



Catherine Amirfar President Patrick Robinson Honorary President Mark David Agrast Executive Vice President Andrea Bjorklund David W. Bowker Marinn Carlson David J. Scheffer Vice Presidents James A.R. Nafziger Nancy L. Perkins Treasurer Ronald J. Bettauer Assistant Treasurer Susan L. Karamanian Audit Committee Chair Lori Fisler Damrosch Lucinda A. Low Sean D. Murphy Honorary Vice Presidents

Dear Colleagues,

On March 24-26, 2021, the American Society of International Law will hold its Annual Meeting online. Now in its 115th year, the ASIL Annual Meeting is one of the largest gatherings of international lawyers, scholars, judges, and diplomats in the world.

The Annual Meeting will offer over 50 hours of substantive content, including an entire track dedicated to professional development, comprising jobs skills workshops, mentoring sessions, "ask-me-anything" conversations with prominent international lawyers, and special sessions offering advice on international publishing and legal research. Your students also will have access to interest group sessions in which they can engage directly with leaders in their specialized fields of interest. In addition, our virtual platform's chat and video conferencing features will give attendees the opportunity to speak directly with each other in real time, as close as one can get to in-person networking these days.

EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

Iulian Arato Perry S. Bechky Marney L. Cheek Kathleen E. Claussen Jacob Katz Cogan Steven A. Crown Melissa J. Durkee Rebecca Hamilton Steven Hill Christina Hioureas Rebecca Ingber Eric Talbot Jensen Aloysius Llamzon Tiyanjana Maluwa David H. Moore Tafadzwa Pasipanodya Patrick W. Pearsall Mark A. Pollack Catherine Powell Bruce C. Rashkow Caroline S. Richard

Sonia E. Rolland

Jarrod Wong

Highlights of the meeting will include:

- Over 45 substantive sessions, the majority of which will be held live, including "Continue the Conversation" breakouts following each panel, where attendees can join via video and talk with the presenters;
- 40+ hours of special sessions and side events, interest group gatherings, and "ask me anything" sessions with leaders in the field;
- 25+ hours of social, networking, mentoring, and career development sessions;
- Over 150 speakers drawn from every segment of the international law community and from related disciplines;
- Eight keynote sessions and named lectures featuring prominent figures in international law, including:
 - o Louise Arbour (Special Representative of the UN Secretary-General for International Migration)
 - o Hannah Buxbaum (Indiana University Maurer School of Law)
 - o Yves Daudet (University of Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne)
 - o Gabrielle K. MacDonald (Retired, Iran-US Claims Tribunal and former President Judge, International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia)
 - o Bernard H. Oxman (University of Miami School of Law)
 - o Mónica Pinto (University of Buenos Aires Law School)
 - Lucy Reed (Arbitration Chambers)
 - o Abdulqawi Ahmed Yusuf (President Judge, International Court of Justice)

We recognize that many members of our community, whether in the academy, in public service, or in practice, are confronting serious personal and financial challenges as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. Accordingly, we have reduced all registration fees by 40 percent, and students can attend for free.

The full program, schedule, and details on how to register for the Annual Meeting are available at www.asil.org/AM.

For further information, please do not hesitate to contact the ASIL Member Services team at services@asil.org.

sincerely,

American Society of International Law

Diane Marie Amann Laurence Boisson de Chazournes Nicola Bonucci John R. Crook Marcella David Timothy L. Dickinson Brian Egan James T. Gathii Peter Mason M. Margaret McKeown Natalie Y. Morris-Sharma Joseph E. Neuhaus Stephen W. Preston Balakrishnan Rajagonal Steven R. Ratner Natalie Reid Leila Nadya Sadat Dan Sarooshi Steven M. Schneebaum Richard H. Steinberg Jane E. Stromseth Bruce C. Swartz Peter Tomka

Past Presidents
José E. Alvarez
Charles N. Brower
Edith Brown Weiss
James H. Carter
Lori Fisler Damrosch
Donald Francis Donovan
Lucinda A. Low
Sean D. Murphy
Lucy F. Reed
Arthur W. Rovine
Anne-Marie Slaughter
Peter D. Trooboff

Xue Hanqin